

Meridian Districting Committee

Meeting Agenda

City Council Chambers, 33 East Broadway Avenue Meridian, Idaho

Monday, April 18, 2022 at 3:30 PM

CALL TO ORDER

The City Clerk called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m.

ROLL CALL ATTENDANCE

Committee members present: Jo Greer, Pam Jagosh, Megan Larsen, John Nesmith, Steve Cory, Walter Steed, Brian McClure, Doug Green, Trent Tripple

Others in attendance: City Clerk Chris Johnson, Deputy City Attorney Kurt Starman

ACTION ITEMS

1. Committee Member Introductions

Members of the committee were introduced. The six voting members are Jo Greer, Pam Jagosh, Megan Larsen, John Nesmith, Steve Cory, and Walter Steed.

Ex-officio members include Doug Green (Information Technology), Brian McClure (Community Development/Planning), and Trent Tripple (Ada County Clerk's Office)

Kurt Starman and Chris Johnson were also introduced.

2. Overview of Idaho Open Meetings Law and Public Records Act

Kurt Starman reviewed the Idaho Open Meetings Law and the Public Records Act. Document submitted to the record.

3. Overview of Idaho State Law Requiring Districting, Commission Duties as outlined in Ordinance 22-1972, and Current Case Law

Kurt Starman reviewed Idaho Code section 50-707A and reviewed the duties of the committee as outlined in City of Meridian Ordinance 22-1972 and case law as it relates to the duty of the committee.

Trent Tripple spoke about the differences between how Ada County Election precincts are set (registered voters) and City Council Districts (census population data).

Document submitted to the record.

The Meridian Districting Committee convenes to establish City Council districts for the City of Meridian pursuant to Idaho Code section 50-707A and the Ordinances of the City of Meridian

4. Review and Discussion of Potential District Maps and Methodology

Doug Green presented three potential maps and discussed the methodology used in their creation. Brian McClure provided additional background information. Trent Tripple observed that the districts provided by Ada County may have been incorrect.

Presentation included in the record.

5. Election of Chair and Vice-Chair

Jo Greer was nominated as Chair by Larsen, Seconded by Nesmith. All in favor.

Megan Larsen was nominated as Vice-Chair. Seconded by Greer. All in favor.

6. Adoption of Committee Meeting Schedule

The committee set the date for the next meeting as Friday, April 29, 2022 at 1:30 p.m. At that meeting, the Chair will present a meeting schedule for adoption.

ADJOURNMENT 4:48 pm

NEXT MEETING Friday, April 29, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.